h1

Guest Post: Keyshawn Johnson: NFL or ESPN

February 21, 2008

Guest post by Ron Dean

While the Trojan count in the NFL will be rising soon as a result of the draft–and the Trojans superior talent. It appears USC might be adding one more to that number by way of unretirement. The Keyshawn Johnson rumor that has been floating since Parcells went to Miami, has gotten some traction lately.

Keyshawn himself was on ESPN the last couple days. Admitting he had been working out more frequently, while contemplating his options. He wouldn’t give a percentage on the odds he will return. When asked about considering any team other than the Dolphins; Keyshawn’s surprising response “If I come back it’ll be for all 32 teams.”

I figured this was a Parcells or nothing deal, and I still think it is. Keyshawn was very unlike himself, talking about the importance of talking to GM, Jeff Ireland and head coach, Tony Sparano. Playing down the importance of his talks with Parcells which he says have not included talks of his returning.

Since I don’t buy that he hasn’t spoken with Parcells about returning; I also don’t buy the fact that he is entertaining anything but the Dolphins. What I really can’t decide is which Keyshawn I like better NFL Keyshawn or ESPN Keyshawn

NFL – I love seeing a former Trojan doing well in the NFL. He would no longer be a deep threat like he was early in his career. What Johnson can do is be a clutch third-down guy. If he can be confortable with the role, he will be a nice security blanket for

ESPN – I love his craziness. He is the new Michael Irvin, sans crack pipe. When he interviewed TO about returning from his injury in time to face the Giants in the playoffs. It looked like a freestyle battle between two preachers. I was just waiting for an amen at the end.

Key: “Are you gonna be readyahhhh”

TO:”I’m gonna playahhh”

Key:”But are you gonna be 100%tah”

TO:”I’m gonna Playahhh. I am gonna play like meahhh”

One comment

  1. I loved NFL Keyshawn and loathe ESPN Keyshawn. Then again, I loathe ESPN period so maybe he is guilty by association. I hope he returns to play football. Few went across the middle of the field with as much gusto as he. As far as his studio skills, he makes Michael Irvin look like the great communicator, Ronald Reagan.



Leave a comment